Farewell wordpress

I imported all the posts to my new jekyll-bootstrap personal blog at yuvalg.com/blog and this old http://uberpython.wordpress.com won’t see any new posts – it’ll be kept as an archive.

That’s it. I’m done. It took only 3 years from the first complaint to finish. Looking back, I’m very grateful for the service.

What I enjoyed at wordpress

  • Yearly reports – they’re eye pleasing, informative and fun. Maybe google analytics could replace this somehow?
  • Ease of initial setup and maintenance.
  • Stable, even on surprise high traffic days.
  • Free.
  • They allow exporting the data! No lock-in is the mark of a serious business with good guys running it.

Why I’m leaving

  • Huge, annoying, ads that they hide from the blog author so you have to go incognito to see what the rest of the world sees. You can pay wordpress to remove the ads, but what else are they hiding from the authors? I don’t know.
  • No control over CSS. You can pay for that too but…
  • I already have a VPS so why not use it? (no way I’m installing the exploit ridden wordpress-php-mysql stack again though).
  • Jekyll allows me to edit the plain-text posts from any device with ease.
  • I wanted to rename the blog anyway.
  • Jekyll is a much simpler stack – preprocessing that results in a a lot of html files is a better fit for my blog. MySQL/PHP/Cache is oldschool. Though this wasn’t a concern of mine when hosted on wordpress.com – I still get a certain “higher road” satisfaction leaving.

Goodbye wordpress.

http://yuvalg.com/blog/

Leave a Reply

